Search the Site



An OT book consisting of five elegies bewailing the destruction of Jerusalem and the Temple in 587 BCE.

Outline of Contents


I. Jerusalem deserted (Lam 1:1-22)

II. Divine warnings fulfilled (Lam 2:1-22)

III. Steadfast love of God endures (Lam 3:1-66)

IV. Punishment and a plea for mercy (Lam 4:1-5:22)

A. Zion punished (Lam 4:1-22)

B. Plea for divine mercy (Lam 5:1-22)